flu happens

Leave a comment

January 25, 2013 by iamsaw

Have you heard? The flu is sweeping the nation. Did you get your flu shot?

I did not.

And on Saturday night, after a very productive day, the flu found me.

It came out of nowhere. No invitation. No warning signs. Just BAM.

SHIVERS.

Then fever of 102 and body aching everywhere. Lower back and legs especially.

No energy. I was zapped.

I could go on, but why? There are different varieties of the flu going around. Mine did not include vomiting, thank you so very much. It has held on for almost an entire week, though. And that is my big big fail.

I have accomplished very little this week. I’ve ignored all of my commitments in service of rest and getting over this bug.

I’m so grateful to my wonderful, adoring and adorable husband Bob who took amazing care of me and Malcolm both.

I’m on the mend now and seeing my way back to productivity. Today’s Failure is back in my sights. This project is still evolving, though. Clearly. I don’t want to give it up completely…

But I am giving up the plan of one failure per day… at least for now. It started to stress me out too much and felt too arbitrary. That doesn’t mean I won’t take something on every day, though. I’m just figuring it out now.

And as I figure it out, I will look to others for wisdom.

Today’s wisdom comes from Seth Godin and his blog post: HOW TO FAIL

Here are six random ideas that will help you fail better, more often and with an inevitably positive upside:

  1. Whenever possible, take on specific projects.
  2. Make detailed promises about what success looks like and when it will occur.
  3. Engage others in your projects. If you fail, they should be involved and know that they will fail with you.
  4. Be really clear about what the true risks are. Ignore the vivid, unlikely and ultimately non-fatal risks that take so much of our focus away.
  5. Concentrate your energy and will on the elements of the project that you have influence on, ignore external events that you can’t avoid or change.
  6. When you fail (and you will) be clear about it, call it by name and outline specifically what you learned so you won’t make the same mistake twice. People who blame others for failure will never be good at failing, because they’ve never done it.

Visit Seth’s blog to read the post in its entirety.

“Success is stumbling from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.” – Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

